top of page

A Midnight Call That Unraveled a Sushi Saga

Have you ever received a call that changed your weekend plans in the most delightful way?

Well, that's exactly what happened to me last satarday night 14th Oct. It was 10:37 PM, and I was fast asleep when my college friend, Mudita, living in the same Aayapa Society as me, called.

Too sleepy to answer the call at that hour, I decided to catch up the next morning. I hurriedly booked my ticket on BookMyShow while mentally preparing myself for the day ahead. The only problem was that I had pulled an all-nighter working on my personal project, and I was worried I'd look utterly dehydrated at the workshop.


With the workshop just hours away, I decided to squeeze in a one-hour power nap around 9:15 AM. However, I couldn't doze off. Instead, I ventured out to explore my surroundings and stumbled upon a serene green park just a hundred meters from my apartment. It was exactly the kind of place I'd been looking for to incorporate into my daily walks.


After an invigorating one-and-a-half-hour stroll, I returned to my apartment, mentally prepared for the workshop. That's when I had a brilliant idea. I texted my friend Pratiusha, inviting her to join us. (She's the kind of person who can make any gathering better with her awareness, politeness, and humility). We had met first time at a Tie-Dye workshop and even had a memorable house party at her place.

Exciting Plan Unfolds

When I woke up on Saturday, I discovered that Mudita had a fascinating plan in mind. My flatmate Manas had informed me about a sushi workshop called "Roll Your Sushi #Makau," set to last for four hours at Café Makau. It seemed like the perfect way to spend the day.


I hurriedly booked my ticket on BookMyShow while mentally preparing myself for the day ahead. The only problem was that I had pulled an all-nighter working on my personal project, and I was worried I'd look utterly dehydrated at the workshop.

With the workshop just hours away, I decided to squeeze in a one-hour power nap around 9:15 AM. However, I couldn't doze off. Instead, I ventured out to explore my surroundings and stumbled upon a serene green park just a hundred meters from my apartment. It was exactly the kind of place I'd been looking for to incorporate into my daily walks.

After an invigorating one-and-a-half-hour stroll, I returned to my apartment, mentally prepared for the workshop. That's when I had a brilliant idea. I texted my friend Pratiusha, inviting her to join us. She's the kind of person who can make any gathering better with her awareness, politeness, and humility. We had met at a Tie-Dye workshop and even had a memorable house party at her place.



The Sushi Crew Grows

After a quick shower, I got dressed and joined Manas, Neeladri (my flatmate), We hailed an auto to Café Makau, and our journey cost us a mere 90 rupees from our place.

Upon arriving at the café, we found Mudita, Mega, Ayush, and Minori Yokoi waiting for us. In total, we formed a lively group of six friends. I had only met Minori Yokoi and Ayush once before, but it didn't take long for everyone to greet each other warmly and find a cozy spot to settle in.

The workshop, "The Sushi Saga," was all about celebrating the art of making sushi under the guidance of a chef. It promised to make our lunchtime more exciting. We received the recipes and step-by-step instructions on how to roll sushi, and we couldn't wait to dive in.


Unexpected Organizer

As the workshop started, it occurred to me that Minori Yokoi might have organized it, as she was the only one with Japanese heritage among us. But soon, I realized that she, too, was there to have a great time rolling sushi like me.


Tasting Adventure

The sushi recipe we ordered was the "Philadelphia roll." This type of sushi is generally made with smoked salmon, cream cheese, and cucumber, with the rice on the outside. Variations could include imitation crab, other types of fish, avocado, scallions, and sesame seeds. Each of us had chosen different recipes, making it a delight to follow along.


Sushi and Smiles

Rolling the sushi was a lot of fun, and we cheered each other on throughout the process. Once we finished, we couldn't wait to taste each other's creations. It was a delightful way to spend the day, and we'll cherish the memories of our sushi adventure.




Photo Finish to Our Sushi Adventure

As the clock struck 3:35, we decided to have a photo session to capture the joyous moments. Then, with smiles on our faces, we bid goodbye to Café Makau and headed back to our apartment, already looking forward to our next adventure.



Find Restaurant: Makau Kitchen and Bar

Address:H.No. 8-2-293/82/A/732/1 Plot No. 732, Rd Number 37, opposite GVPR Engineering's, Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad, Telangana 500033

40 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page